Log in

Log in

MPWB 2020 Vote for Board Positions

01 Sep 2020 12:59 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

This year we have two open board positions for 2020 and will be holding an online election for full members in good standing (paid dues for 2020). Voting will open on September 2, 2020 and close on September 30, 2020. The nominations committee and board have approved the following two candidates to sit for election for these upcoming vacant positions. 

We are pleased to share information about these outstanding candidates. Members will receive notification for casting their votes.

For President-Elect:  

Tomas Kron, Ph.D.  

Professor and Director, Department of Physical Sciences, Peter MacCallum Cancer Institute, Melbourne, Australia.  

Tomas has had much international involvement with multiple activities especially with the International Organization for Medical Physics (IOMP) and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) involving many expert missions, training events and several QUATRO audits. He has also been working in the International Medical Physics Certification Board (IMPCB) since 2013 and chairs the Science Committee for the Asia-Oceania Federation of Organizations for Medical Physics (AFOMP). 

In 2013, he was awarded the Distinguished Services Award of the Australasian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine (ACPSEM) and nominated as one of 50 medical physicists by the IOMP who had a significant impact on medical physics in the last 50 years.  

In 2014, he was awarded an Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for services to medicine, research and education. 

His areas of interest include dosimetry of ionising radiation, image guided radiotherapy, clinical trials and education of medical physicists. He has published more than 280 papers in refereed journals and given more than 80 invited conference presentations. 

For Director of Fund Raising:  

Eduard Gershkevitsh, Ph.D.  

Chief Medical Physicist, North Estonia Regional Hospital, Tallinn, Estonia and visiting lecturer at Tallinn Technical University and Tartu HealthCare College.  

Eduard is a member of the European Society for Radiotherapy and Oncology (ESTRO) and the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM). From 2011 to 2020 he served on the ESTRO Physics Committee. He has participated as faculty in ESTRO teaching courses and numerous expert missions for the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in different continents related to treatment planning system and linac commissioning, QC/QA activities, and national and international audits. From 2015 to 2018, he served on the International Organization for Medical Physics (IOMP) Awards and Honours Committee. 

In 2019, Eduard was a Medical Physics Consultant at the IAEA Standard Dosimetry Laboratory in Seibersdorf, Austria. He has 18 peer-reviewed publications. 

Search our Website

Like Us and Share!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software